TODAY IN MUSIC: The Lexicon of Love, the debut studio album by English pop band ABC, was released June 21, 1982, on Mercury Records. The album was a critical and commercial success particularly in the United Kingdom, entering the UK album chart at #1 and producing four UK Top 20 hits: “Tears Are Not Enough”, “Poison Arrow”, “The Look of Love “, and “All My Heart”. The Lexicon of Love was produced by Trevor Horn and features themes of heartache and the search for meaningful relationships. The album did not reach the same heights in America but “Poison Arrow” and “The Look of Love” did crack the Top 40. In 2009, ABC performed the entire album at the Royal Albert Hall in London, accompanied by the BBC Concert Orchestra. A UK review of the 2004 Deluxe Edition called The Lexicon of Love “a landmark of British pop.” #abc #thelexiconoflove #abcthelexiconoflove #mercuryrecords #uk #ukalbumchart #tearsarenotenough #poisonarrow #thelookoflove #allmyheart #top40 #royalalberthall #london #bbc #bbcconcertorchestra #tonyatlarge #eclectimaniacradioshow #todayinmusic #musichistory

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s